World Arthritis Day

10/12/2018

Today is "World Arthritis Day" a worldwide day dedicated to recognizing the various forms of arthritis and the individuals who live with it.

I was recently asked by Arthritis Consumer Experts (www.jointhealth.org) how arthritis has changed my life. I have been asked this often and each time I ponder the question and answer the same, "it hasn't changed my life, it has shaped it."

I was diagnosed at the age of two, because of this I am not familiar with life before rheumatoid arthritis. The person I am has been formed through the daily physical and mental obstacles placed by the disease.

I learned early in life how to adapt. Many mornings I would be unable to open my hands fully or I'd be incapable of moving certain fingers. There were days I was unable to put full weight on an inflamed ankle or foot. It was these moments that taught me how to adapt quickly otherwise getting dressed, holding a toothbrush and playing with friends at recess would have been impossible.

i learned early in life that negative situations often include a positive.  At the age of 10 I battled a sudden attack of "acute angle closure glaucoma" on the same day my Mom brought my new baby sister home from the hospital. This type of glaucoma is extremely painful, and can lead to blindness if not treated promptly, so as my Mom and sister came through the front door of our home I was being rushed to the hospital to receive treatment. I remember being in excruciating pain and choosing to focus on the excitement of having a baby sister waiting at home. I have continued to focus on the positives hiding in the negatives throughout my life's journey.

I learned at an early age how to push through pain and how to be resilient. At the age of 11 I underwent surgery on my feet which left me in a cast to my knee for three months. During my recovery time the school I attended held an elementary sleepover/mural painting. I was excited to be part of this and convinced my Mom that I would be fine and that she could be comfortable in knowing that I knew my limitations. I knew the limitations and blew right through every one of them. I ignored the warning pain and walked, hopped, jogged and danced on my casted leg which lead to severe pain and spasms the next day. It was at this time I also learned the lesson of repercussions.

Living with arthritis has had it's dark moments, I have chosen not to let them govern my life. I do not focus on "what ifs" and "if onlys" I believe strongly that I have been given this life with a purpose, having rheumatoid arthritis is part of the path which leads me to that purpose.

I can say with confidence that I am who I am because of rheumatoid arthritis. For this, I am grateful.


Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started